Thoughts on the Engineering Industry

A blog covering engineering, technology and business topics

How Life Experiences Can Change Your Goals?

Hello, everyone.  I hope ya’ll are doing well.  School and work is about to get underway for me soon so I’ll finally get some normal rhythm to my life again.  Today I wanted talk about something I discussed with a random guy Friday night.  We got to talking about “the bucket list” concept and he told me that he had already accomplished everything that he wanted to in life…and he was about my age.  And I got to thinking about “my bucket list.”  And I realized something fundamentally different about both of our lists.  His focused on individual experiences like skydiving and bungee jumping, and mine consisted of making a contribution to the people and world around me over the course of my life.

Hearing him talk about it in more detail, I realized it was because of the life he lived.  He essentially lived the opposite of my life and experience as a college student – I don’t want to go into details about the stuff he mentioned because he had a rough day.  Part of what happened in the experiences throughout his life is that he lost faith in his ability to make a positive change in the world, whereas my experiences have given me a lot of optimism about my potential.  I felt a need to do something positive with my life – no matter what he said, I still couldn’t say that my effort to do something positive would be pointless.  And to give him credit, he still respected my outlook on life a lot.  Deep down I think he still wants to see that some people try which I think is interesting.

This conversation really made me think about the effect of these differences for a whole population.  Some people might want to do good, but only try and change the small world around them.  Others only want to try and change something big.  Truth be told, I still don’t know what I think in that respect and don’t know what should be the norm.  I can’t help but think about old saying about having too many cooks in the kitchen on some level – if everyone has their own ideas about how to fix the big problems in the world would that just create confusion.  This debate does lead to some interesting questions everyone should ask themselves.  Do I think I can contribute something for the betterment of others?  What do others believe to be the case?  Is there something we need to do to change this?  If change is necessary, how is this change best implemented?  Have a good week and thanks for reading.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

