Thoughts on the Engineering Industry

A blog covering engineering, technology and business topics

What is your most effective “sharpen the saw” hobby?

Hello everyone.  I hope your week went well.  Nothing has really changed for me.  I did my last planned tutoring session for the summer, so now I will probably go back to substitute teaching as my day job when that starts up.  I would like the keep tutoring in the Arlington area, but I think they’ll be hard to find.  Today I wanted to ask what ya’ll do to “sharpen the saw”?  For those of you that don’t know, it is referenced in Steven Coveys book “7 Habits of Highly Effective people.” There several types of hobby activities that he recommends you engage in to be at your most effective – physical, social/emotional, mental, and spiritual.

For me, I have tons of hobbies and I go in cycles where I spend more time on one hobby or another.  Right now I spend a lot more time than I have previously playing Chess.  But I’ve noticed that everyone has a constant hobby they enjoy no matter what.  For me, it’s martial arts and working out towards the end of improving in my martial arts stuff.  I find that physicality of the habbit combined with the mental focus required helps to relieve my stress from the day and refresh my mental energy.  There are other things I do a lot that I couldn’t see giving up either, but I rank them as less important – or in the least, I can feel the drain and loss of effectiveness more when I don’t do my preferred amount of working out.

What hobby do you find that you need to do to remain at your most effective?  What group does that fall under and do you think that it is what makes it a good hobby for you?  Thanks for reading and have a good week.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

