Thoughts on the Engineering Industry

A blog covering engineering, technology and business topics

Engineering references in e-book form – would you use them?

Hello everyone, I hope you are doing well.  Nothing much has really changed here.  Still waiting to hear back from UTA so I can register for courses – I did do the renewal training seminar for substitute teaching so I at least have a way to make money if all else fails.  I tried looking for engineering job openings but I didn’t many postings for entry level jobs that interested me this week.  Overall not a bad week though.  Today I wanted get an idea of whether of whether or not you would use your standard engineering references as e-books if they were available in that form.

The whole concept came from a blog I read that did a series of articles saying what is in their bag.  There are some things which remain same for everyone – paper, pens and pencils, erasers, calculators, etc.  Reading it got me thinking about a recent dividing point – the e-book.  Most people I know, even amongst people my age, either love the fact that e-books are so easy to use and have fully embraced the technology or don’t use it at all because they just have to have the paper book in their hand for it to feel right.  For me, it’s a no brainer – e book.  While there might be some books that I would buy still, it would because it’s a special edition cover or something like that.  Then I could be like Ron Burgundy and try to impress women with my collection of classic books lol.  For day to day usage, I would prefer to use a kindle though because it is lighter and can hold all the books you’ll need with and infinite amount of archive space online as well.  So that would mean my optimum bag would contain very little stuff because of that – laptop, kindle, page scanner wand, calculator, engineering paper and then office supplies to round it off.

What is the case for you?  Do you think we are a long ways of from kindle usage being the norm for most books?  Or is it going to be a change that occurs in the near future?  And on a side note, I just wanted to let ya’ll know that I am changing the format a bit.  The posts are going to be the same but I’m going to try posting on a random schedule but at 1 time a week minimum to see if my creativity for my blog increases.  Let me know your thoughts either way.  Have a good week! 🙂

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

